Members Login
Membership Number:
Facebook Twitter
View Article

9 Hole Women's Golf update

Topic: Womens Golf

Nine Hole Women’s Golf Update

Hopefully you all had a relaxing and enjoyable Queen’s Birthday weekend. If nothing else it certainly signalled the beginning of winter with those chilly temperatures we haven’t been accustom to!

Firstly, congratulations to our Pennant team (Sabra Davies, Linda Brown, Leanne Bode and Amanda Boberg; all supported on the day by Sarah Fyfe, Jo Hollies and Jackie Antonievich) who played the last of the team games on Thursday at Clarks Beach. In lovely weather the team came out winners by a slender margin of one point overall, thereby securing the club’s place in the Auckland finals, which will be played later in the year. Well done girls!

SCRAMBLE DATES FOR JUNE – Monday 10th & 24th and Wednesday 5th and19th

MID WINTER FUN DAY & LUNCH - Wednesday, 19 June (8.45am Shotgun start) Entries close and lunch to be paid by this Friday, 7 June (to Jo Hollies or Linda Brown). Please note if golf is cancelled due to weather/frost the lunch will still go ahead at approx. 11.45am.

ROTORUA GOLF CLUB – Ladies Open Foursomes/ Three Day Handicap Matchplay.

Details of this event are on the Noticeboard. Some of you might like to consider this as an enjoyable few days away with fellow clubmates. By all accounts this course is suitable for winter play. Enter as a pair and enjoy some fun and great hospitality from the Rotorua Golf Club. For further information please ask/email Jo Hollies or Linda Brown.


Now that winter conditions are upon us the course will inevitably develop areas where the ball will land in places and be hard to find. Where possible please make a conscious effort to keep an eye on the flight/direction of both your ball and also that of your partner’s ball to hopefully enable finding them a little easier.


Rules Question: If a player’s ball in motion from a stroke made from anywhere but the putting green accidentally hits any person or outside influence there is no penalty: True or False?

Answer: True. Rule 11.1a This is true, even if the ball hits the player, the opponent or any other player or any of their caddies or equipment.