Hole 1

A player makes a practice swing and accidentally moves her ball in play on the fairway with her club. What is the ruling?

Answer:   C) The player gets one penalty stoke and must replace the ball

If a player causes a ball to move without making a stroke there is a one stroke penalty. Note if the ball is on the putting green there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. (Rule 9.4b).


Hole 2

A player may remove a half-eaten apple from a bunker when it is lying next to his ball in the bunker, without penalty.

Answer:   A) True

The half-eaten apple is a loose impediment. Under Rule 15.1a, a player may remove a loose impediment lying anywhere on the course.


Hole 3

If it is 75% certain that a ball that has not been found is in a penalty area, a player may take back-on-the-line relief from the penalty area under penalty of one stroke.

Answer:   B) False

A player must have knowledge or virtual certainty (95% likely) that their ball is in a penalty area in order to take relief under Rule 17.1. This means there is conclusive evidence, such as when the player or other witness saw it happen.


Hole 4

In stroke play, when playing out of a bad lie, a player accidentally hits the ball a second time on her follow through. What was the ruling?

Answer:    A) The accidental double hit counts as only one stroke and there is no penalty

As per Rule 10.1a, if a player’s club accidently strikes the ball more than once, there has been only one stroke and there is no penalty.


Hole 5

The nearest outside points at ground level of the boundary stake define out of bounds.

Answer:   B) False

When defined by stakes, the boundary edge is defined by the line between the course-side points of the stakes at ground level.  A ball is out of bounds when all of it is out of bounds. See definition.


Hole 6

In stroke play, player A concedes player B’s short putt and knocks the ball away. Player B lifts his ball and plays from the next tee. What is the ruling?

Answer:   A) Player B is disqualified

A player must hole out in stroke play. If the player fails to hole out at any hole, they must correct that mistake before making a stroke to begin another hole or, for the final hole of the round, before returning the scorecard. Rule 3.3c.


Hole 7

The nearest point of complete relief is the reference point for taking lateral relief under unplayable ball rule.

Answer:    B) False

The reference point for taking lateral relief is the spot of the original ball. The relief area is 2 club lengths, not nearer the hole as outlined in Rule 19.2C.


Hole 8

In stroke play, a player hits a shot in a bunker and his ball rebounds off the face of the bunker. The player does not have time to get out of the way and ball hits his body. The player must play the ball as it lies, but what is the penalty?

Answer:   A) There is no penalty

If a player’s ball in motion accidently hits any person or outside influence, including himself, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies if played from off the putting green. Rule 11.1.


Hole 9

When the edge of ground under repair is defined by a line on the ground, the line itself is in the ground under repair.

Answer:   A) True

See definition of ground under repair.



Please feel free to email your golf rule questions to: