The first round of the Waiatarua Trophy was played on Saturday afternoon.  This is a 2-round event over consecutive Saturdays.  Playing pairs are drawn by lot - one from the low handicap section and one from the high handicap section. Last year's winners were Wayne Scholtz and John Childerhouse.
After the first round it is tightly packed at the top of the leaderboard - Chris Hanley/Brett Innes and Barry Hall/John Johnson share the lead of 74pts.  Johnny Lee/Jack Kirkland-Smith and Wayne Hirt/Dennis Swan are only 1pt behind (73pts); and the top is rounded out by John Durkin/Colin McGowan (72pts).
The second round this Saturday is being played in score-order, and the weather forecast looks promising if cold.
A reminder to enter the Captains Prize on our website -  Entry via this method will ensure that you are allocated a tee time for the Qualifying Round on Saturday July 17.