Men’s Competition Update – March 3
Mid-Week Captains
The Round of 16 due to be played on March 3rd has been delayed a week due to the COVID lock-down.  This round will now be played (hopefully!) on Wednesday March 10th, with the subsequent rounds pushed back another week.  Players in this event have had their names entered into next Wednesdays start sheet.
Club Championships – Match Play Round of 16
Open Grade – some very interesting results on Saturday in the first round of the Match Play Champs.  Matthew Cormack (perennial winner) was taken to the penultimate hole before winning 2/1 over William Kelly.  Other winners were Max Clarke (vs Logan Driver 3/2); Chris Goad over Andrew Meng (4/3); Robby Turnbull beat James Eng (4/2), Thai Leng beat Alex Bagley; Scott Robertson beat Rakesh Patel (2/1) and Nathan Smith won by default.  Barry Hall and Kahu Tataurangi will be playing as soon as they can after lock-down to complete the names for the
Quarter finals:
Cormack vs Clarke; Goad vs Turnbull; Smith vs Leng; and Robertson vs Hall/Tataurangi.
Intermediate Grade – The winners in this grade were Kailesh Patel (David Cranna); Mark Carroll (Bruce Walkley); Cameron Pocock (David Evans); Oliver Foote (Peter Lake); Ronnie Tan (Darren Soo); Cullam Murchison (Ty Ngo) and Don Hannam (Wayne Hirt).  
The Quarter final matches are:
Kailesh vs Mark – Cameron vs Oliver - Dean vs Ronnie – and Cullam vs Don.
Junior Grade – Bruce Renshaw beat David Hartstone; Glen Larsen over John Lee; Mark Morphy beat Larry Sewell; Ross Taylor over Iain Craig; Andrew “Trapper” Williams beat Alex Ivanov; Russell Thompson over Tada Wada; Paul Hurtley on the last hole over Dene McKay, and finally Erik Jorgensen beat Mike Hearn.  
In the Quarter Finals – Bruce vs Glen; Mark vs Ross; Trapper vs Russell and Paul vs Erik.
C Grade – Quarter Final matches are Ken Taylor vs Richard Osborne; Mark Boucher vs Rollo Gillespie; Suresh Hallikeri vs Peter Kusabs; and John Hill vs Christie Xavier.  There were only 8 qualifiers in this grade, so they all progressed directly to the Quarter Finals.
D Grade – Robin Bone, Dennis Swan, Richard Fairey, Sid Holloway and Mike Hyams all progressed with byes to the Quarter Finals.  In the first round matches – Lyall Brown beat Peter Sage (2/1), Mike Egan beat James Marshall (2/1) and David Stewart beat Bob Jones.
The Quarter Final match ups are:
Robin vs Lyall ; Richard vs Sid; Dennis vs Mike Egan; and David Stewart vs Mike Hyams.