Three of our teams featured on Finals Day at Windross Farm - Bissett Shield (semi-final vs Whitford Park; Championship 2 Final vs Whitford Park; and Inter Club 3 Final vs Titirangi.
Our Inter Club 3 team posted back-to-back wins, having won it last year as well.  Up against Titirangi at the bottom of the order Mike Hyams and Erik Jorgensen were looking to complete an undefeated season and they both delivered – Mike by 2/1 and Erik by 4/3.  A great start, but unfortunately those 2 wins were countered by losses to Dean Palmer (1down) and Cameron Pocock by 5/4.  It was going to come down to the top of the order to get the team over the line.  Chris Hanley and Ronnie Tan at Nos. 3 & 4 produced vital wins – Chris by 1up and Ronnie by 3/2.  Then Dave Annan lost 3/1 out at the 17th green and we knew that Kailesh Patel was 2down with 2 to play.  Planning began for a play-off, and Ronnie Tan was looking like our selection.  Just as Ronnie was thinking about the play-off, in came Kailesh with wins on the last 2 holes to get the vital half.  A 4.5-3.5 win over Titirangi and a second win in this grade for these guys in the last 2 years!  
Special mention to Mike Hyams, Erik Jorgensen and Kailesh Patel who backed up from their Match Play wins on Saturday – Kailesh in the Intermediate Grade; Erik in the Juniors and Mike in the D Grade.  Not to forget Dean Palmer who was Kailesh's beaten opponent in the Intermediates.  The celebrations went on all afternoon back at the club!  Well done, guys.
The Bissett Shield team set off early in their semi-final against Whitford Park.  Unfortunately, it wasn't to be our day as we struggled through the morning.  Daniel Freeman's 1up win over Phil Aickin was a solid start, but with Nathan Smith (3/2) and Tomas Shaw (1down) both losing it was up to the upper order to bring the team home.  In the middle-order Rakesh's 2up win was balanced by Kahu's 3/2 loss.  Although Bailey Smith came back to secure a half over his opponent, there were narrow 2/1 losses to Matthew Cormack and Robby Turnbull.  A 2.5-5.5 loss to the eventual winners from Whitford Park.  Whitford beat Titirangi in the final by 4.5-3.5.  In the other semi-final Titirangi accounted for RAGGC 5.5-2.5.  Next year we will be without Tomas Shaw who has moved to a role as Head Greenkeeper at Feilding Golf Club.  We wish him the best and will keep a watch on his pennant games in the Manawatu.
The Championship 2 were up against Whitford Park.In the finish when Finlay McKechnie and Peter McCormack both lost the 18th hole to halve their matches, this became the difference between a play-off (4-4) and a narrow 3-5 loss.  Robert Hill was down most of his match and lost 3/1 on the 17th green.  Max Clarke and Alex Bagley also lost in the middle of the order, and Brett Geyer's loss by 2/1 meant we had to win the remaining matches to get a 4-4 draw and a play-off.  Both Finlay and Peter can look back at moments when their match could have been won, but for long putts by their opponents.  Not the finish that the team wanted but a good year to reach the final, after missing out last year.
In summary – 1 win to Inter Club 3 (2 years in a row); 1 loss in the final (Championship 2); 3 semi-final losses – Bissett Shield, Championship 1 and Inter Club 2.  A round of applause to all the players who turned out this year, and special thanks to the Managers – Rakesh Patel/James Eng, Michael Maingay/Andrew Millard, Igor Ivanov and Paul Hurtley!